Author Topic: 2017 Insulation Display  (Read 5494 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JAATopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
2017 Insulation Display
« on: May 02, 2016, 04:57:46 PM »
Using 2017 version this morning....For some reason rectangular duct and fittings display wrap and liner as solid lines in both model and paper space. Rectangular end caps or plug ends are the only rectangular parts so far that display the dashed lines for either insulation. Round duct and fittings display both correctly. 

Everything appears to plot correctly, just don't display like the did before. Any ideas??

The display settings all appear the same as before the switch from 2016....
« Last Edit: May 05, 2016, 10:16:17 PM by JAA »
Intel Core i7-4771 CPU @ 3.50GHz, 32GB RAM
Nvidia QUADRO M4000 8GB
AEC 2021 & CAMduct 2021

Offline cadbob

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2764
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • SMWIA Local 17
Re: 2017 Insulation Display
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2016, 07:14:23 PM »
Seems fine here. Try typing LTSCALE and setting to 36 or 48
When someone asks where you see yourself in 5 years... Buddy, I'm just trying to make it to Friday. :)

Offline JAATopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: 2017 Insulation Display
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2016, 07:27:12 PM »
Thanks for the reply. Its not the LTSCALE though as it displays fine on the round and rectangular end caps/plug ends.
Intel Core i7-4771 CPU @ 3.50GHz, 32GB RAM
Nvidia QUADRO M4000 8GB
AEC 2021 & CAMduct 2021

Offline cadbob

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2764
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • SMWIA Local 17
Re: 2017 Insulation Display
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2016, 11:56:11 AM »
Hmmmm, Have you tried starting a blank drawing and testing?
When someone asks where you see yourself in 5 years... Buddy, I'm just trying to make it to Friday. :)

Offline miltonhultsiv

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 480
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: 2017 Insulation Display
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2016, 01:20:52 PM »
I had the same issue last week when I first tried to use the 2017 suite and couldn't figure it out either so I switched back to 2016 for now. 
Milton Hults - fourthGEN, Inc. - Middletown, DE
"The Difference is in The Details"

AUTODESK Fabrication Suite 2018
Core i9 7900X, 64GB Vengeance DDR4 3200, Quadro P4000, (4) ASUS 28", Razer Chroma, Windows 10 Pro

Offline cadbob

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2764
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • SMWIA Local 17
Re: 2017 Insulation Display
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2016, 01:50:29 PM »
could someone post a small dwg file? Curious here!
When someone asks where you see yourself in 5 years... Buddy, I'm just trying to make it to Friday. :)

Offline davidratx

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1336
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: 2017 Insulation Display
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2016, 04:34:54 PM »
Using 2017 version this morning....For some reason rectangular duct and fittings display wrap and liner as solid lines in both model and paper space. Rectangular end caps or plug ends are the only rectangular parts so far that display the dashed lines for either insulation. Round duct and fittings display both correctly. 

Everything appears to plot correctly, just don't display like the did before. Any ideas??

The display settings all appear the same as before the switch from 2016....
Uncheck the High quality geometry option in Graphics Performance.
David Ronson
TDIndustries Director of Construction Technologies
Windows 10 - Revit - AutoCAD - CADmep - ESTmep - CAMduct

Offline JAATopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: 2017 Insulation Display
« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2016, 09:16:21 PM »
That did it........Thanks!!
Intel Core i7-4771 CPU @ 3.50GHz, 32GB RAM
Nvidia QUADRO M4000 8GB
AEC 2021 & CAMduct 2021

Offline JAATopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: 2017 Insulation Display
« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2016, 10:22:36 PM »
Well after plotting some drawings today I noticed that now all round duct prints as hidden lines. The preview appeared as normal with solid lines for the duct.
The rectangular is correct, but it appears the round is thinking its hidden behind the wrap?? Internal insulated round is fine also........
Intel Core i7-4771 CPU @ 3.50GHz, 32GB RAM
Nvidia QUADRO M4000 8GB
AEC 2021 & CAMduct 2021

Offline VirtualPilot

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6610
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: 2017 Insulation Display
« Reply #9 on: May 06, 2016, 01:30:23 PM »
is this using Legacy Hidden?
Santos Cedeno
CAD/BIM Mgr - DIXIE Metal Products

Offline JAATopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: 2017 Insulation Display
« Reply #10 on: May 06, 2016, 03:31:45 PM »
Yes Legacy Hidden. This did not happen with 2016.....I just opened and plotted another drawing that was completed with the 2016 version and it is normal. The High quality geometry option in Graphics Performance is checked?? So it looks like to plot correctly, I just need to get used to rectangular duct wrap displaying in model space as solid lines........... :(

Intel Core i7-4771 CPU @ 3.50GHz, 32GB RAM
Nvidia QUADRO M4000 8GB
AEC 2021 & CAMduct 2021

Offline davidratx

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1336
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: 2017 Insulation Display
« Reply #11 on: May 06, 2016, 04:31:25 PM »
Well after plotting some drawings today I noticed that now all round duct prints as hidden lines. The preview appeared as normal with solid lines for the duct.
The rectangular is correct, but it appears the round is thinking its hidden behind the wrap?? Internal insulated round is fine also........
I am not able to duplicate this. I'm sure you have done this but verify that the linetype is Continuous. You might try turning the Hardware Acceleration off completely to see if that has any affect.
David Ronson
TDIndustries Director of Construction Technologies
Windows 10 - Revit - AutoCAD - CADmep - ESTmep - CAMduct

Offline JAATopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: 2017 Insulation Display
« Reply #12 on: Sep 14, 2016, 08:12:37 PM »
Well this morning I stumbled across the possible culprit for the random line types on the plots. It seems if I use the PDF export of all layouts the duct displays as hidden lines at random locations. When plotting a single layout to pdf this does not happen?? 
Intel Core i7-4771 CPU @ 3.50GHz, 32GB RAM
Nvidia QUADRO M4000 8GB
AEC 2021 & CAMduct 2021

Offline VirtualPilot

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6610
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: 2017 Insulation Display
« Reply #13 on: Sep 15, 2016, 01:39:29 PM »
Oh that! Yes, I used it only once before and the results where horrible, nothing seemed to follow pen settings, from there I individually plot TABS even if the job has 10 TABS!  :-\
Santos Cedeno
CAD/BIM Mgr - DIXIE Metal Products

Offline madcad

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: 2017 Insulation Display
« Reply #14 on: Sep 15, 2016, 06:26:48 PM »
Why not use "Publish".
If you do use publish be sure to uncheck the "Publish in background" option.
I have noticed that if this is checked items that are "HIDESELECTEDINVP" are showing.
I think that when its checked it actually opens up another session of AutoCAD in the background to process the plotting but does not load CADmep.