Author Topic: Modeling tubing in Revit  (Read 2663 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AlinaTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 922
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Female
Modeling tubing in Revit
« on: Dec 01, 2017, 19:00:59 PM »
Have anyone modeled tubing in Revit with Fabrication parts? If so, how do you make custom bends to work? Do you use Route and Fill command?
What about double containment systems?
 Thanks
« Last Edit: Dec 04, 2017, 14:19:45 PM by Alina.autocad »

Offline madcad

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 343
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: Modeling tubing in Revit
« Reply #1 on: Dec 02, 2017, 11:41:22 AM »
For each tube we have that can be bent I have an uncatalogued bend with the angle left open.
Also keep the tangent lengths short and open.
You can now set the material on uncatalogued fittings.
Route and fill works but it wont stretch the tangent which it a bit of a pain.
I cant find an easy way to make it work without the unnecessary joints.
I am using 2017 BTW.

How are you finding it?
We will never go back to AutoCAD.

Offline Darren Young

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2079
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • BIM There Done That.
Re: Modeling tubing in Revit
« Reply #2 on: Dec 04, 2017, 13:26:13 PM »
I have a background in electrical...about 30 years ago. However I've never explored using the electrical components of Fabrication or Revit for that matter. If I had the need, I'd explore the conduit capabilities as that's a commonly bent item.

I don't know if you could get it to work for bent piping but it might be worth exploring.

Offline dopefish

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 405
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Modeling tubing in Revit
« Reply #3 on: Nov 21, 2022, 15:35:51 PM »
Sorry to resurrect an old thread. Has any progress been made with bent tubing or flex fills in Revit? How are people addressing bent stainless for process projects?
"And the wood header is still 4  3/4" on top of the top of the double top plate." . . . Random VDC Coodinator

I love coordination

Offline Eharris76

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Modeling tubing in Revit
« Reply #4 on: Dec 07, 2022, 13:06:04 PM »
I also am interested if any progress has occurred or has any one has found an easy method for bent pipe.
My company has a project coming up the has a lot of bent pipe. We are buying a pipe bending machine to support the project.
As Madcad stated, I also have an unlocked fitting for odd angles. The best that I have been able to figure out is to export centerlines to the bending machine.
I have used other CAD software in the past that supported pipe bending, been waiting on AutoDesk to catch up for years.

Offline cnash

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1377
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Modeling tubing in Revit
« Reply #5 on: Dec 07, 2022, 20:54:16 PM »
From what I have gathered you have to just use the flexible pipe families (flex pipe tool) in revit. The flexible pipe CIDs from fabrication do not transfer over to Revit.
Christopher Nash
Operations Software & Process Manager
William R. Nash, LLC.

Offline ScottieM

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 911
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Modeling tubing in Revit
« Reply #6 on: Dec 12, 2022, 13:05:31 PM »
For us, when we looked into this for a bending machine, the software provided by the machinery vendor (with a price) does this for us with our regular fittings. We're using ITM's in Revit. At the time of spooling, just pick the fittings with the pipe or tube you want to be made as one, then the software processes it as one piece for fabrication on the bender.
https://www.itectube.com/
Scott M.
The Dude Abides