Author Topic: Keyboard shortcut to "paste to original coordinates"  (Read 6744 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline BrickTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Female
Keyboard shortcut to "paste to original coordinates"
« on: Dec 20, 2017, 14:53:03 PM »
Does anyone know the Keyboard shortcut keys for "Paste to original coordinates:"? I have used it before but its been a while. I thought it was cntrl-alt-v  or cntrl-shift-v but these arent working.

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1428
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: Keyboard shortcut to "paste to original coordinates"
« Reply #1 on: Dec 20, 2017, 15:05:43 PM »
You can try the attached LISP routines to make this process a bit quicker.
Type C0 to copy your object(s) (using a base point of 0,0,0), then P0 to place the object(s) back in using the same reference point. This works great when pasting into several drawings since you can hit the P0 with your right hand only, knowing those keys are right next to each other.
Copy the code below into your startup suite, and use it each time you launch AutoCAD.

Code: [Select]
(defun c:c0 () (command "copybase" "0,0,0")(princ))
(defun c:p0 () (command "pasteclip" "0,0,0")(princ))
I do NOT offer support to forum postings via email, IRC or any form of instant messaging network. If you want help, ask here!

Offline BrickTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Female
Re: Keyboard shortcut to "paste to original coordinates"
« Reply #2 on: Dec 20, 2017, 15:12:26 PM »
I know literally nothing about lisps. Wont this move my reference point to 0,0,0 rather then the original coordinate or is that using 0,0,0 as the basepoint?
I know there is a keyboard shortcut because I was using it just a few months ago. I ran across it in a forum and I thought I would remember it since I was using it often. Then I didnt use it for a little while and now I cant remember it.

Offline BrickTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Female
Re: Keyboard shortcut to "paste to original coordinates"
« Reply #3 on: Dec 20, 2017, 15:13:20 PM »
 Still searching for the keyboard shortcut because its what I prefer to use but I can use work arounds until I find it, thanks.

Offline tvtinbender

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 79
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Keyboard shortcut to "paste to original coordinates"
« Reply #4 on: Jan 12, 2018, 17:15:43 PM »
Not sure if there is a shortcut for that. I added "Paste to Original Coordinates" to our QAT in our enterprise CUI. Very handy...
Troy VanSanten
Hermanson Company

Offline Darren Young

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2081
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • BIM There Done That.
Re: Keyboard shortcut to "paste to original coordinates"
« Reply #5 on: Jan 12, 2018, 19:07:43 PM »
Could easily be added to the ACAD.PGP if a shortcut is what's wanted.

Offline schdon29

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Keyboard shortcut to "paste to original coordinates"
« Reply #6 on: Jan 15, 2018, 20:33:27 PM »
I placed the "Copy" and "Paste To Original Coordinates" commands in my "Right Click" shortcut menus.
Nice and quick to access.