Author Topic: Moving Plasma Tables  (Read 287 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ZkayyaliTopic starter

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Moving Plasma Tables
« on: Feb 13, 2018, 06:25:48 PM »
We are setting up a new computer to run our plasma tables to replace our ancient Windows XP computer.

Outside of installing CAMduct, what software or procedures need to be installed or ran to allow the plasma tables to communicate with the computer?

We have heard DNC32.exe needs to be installed, but outside of this are there any other software requirements?

We use plasma tables by advanced cutting systems, using short-haul black boxes connected via a serial connection.

We are also open to suggestions to improve the cabling infrastructure.
We have heard we can network the tables as an alternative to serial connections.

Any tips or help is greatly appreciated.


Offline ZkayyaliTopic starter

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Moving Plasma Tables
« Reply #1 on: Feb 13, 2018, 06:45:55 PM »
I found this link, which seems to help with the instructions:
https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/fabrication-products/learn-explore/caas/CloudHelp/cloudhelp/2018/ENU/Fabrication-UsersGuide/files/GUID-E3BB4DF0-B6E4-40D8-A470-8652A5C74638-htm.html

But does anyone know where I can download files such as burny.exe and d6.exe?

Offline DonWunder

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Moving Plasma Tables
« Reply #2 on: Feb 13, 2018, 07:29:32 PM »
Those programs come with a camduct install. Check your program files folder. "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Fabrication 2018\CAMduct"
Don Wunderlich
The Hill Group

Offline ZkayyaliTopic starter

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Moving Plasma Tables
« Reply #3 on: Feb 13, 2018, 07:36:13 PM »
Do you know the difference between the many files?

Files being D6.exe, Cyb.exe, Burny.exe, Jubilee.exe, and DNC.exe?

Offline Darren Young

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1320
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • Hermancon Company LLP
Re: Moving Plasma Tables
« Reply #4 on: Feb 13, 2018, 08:29:17 PM »
Most of the Comm programs are similar and are for minor nuances or machine specific things.

If you have an existing setup that works, it's likely easiest to use the same software//setup you previously used.

D6.EXE will work with the Hypertherm controls that Advance Cutting uses.
Burny.Exe is for the older Burny controllers.
Jubilee.exe is for an Autofold Coil line (named after the electronics company that wrote the controls software - http://www.jubilee-electronics.co.uk/)

For your Hypertherm controls, I'd recommend using Ethernet. It eliminates the need for a separate communications program, serial configuration as well as minimized the separate devices (Black Box short Haul modems) which reduces the potential points of failure.

IF you use Ethernet for the Hypertherms, the downloads may not finish completely returning the table to the home position...to resolve that, that CAMduct setup for the controller needs the "AutoLoad After Return Home" option set in the Machine setup in CAMduct. I'm about 95% certain that's the setting...it's been a while.

Some other info that might be helpful....

http://au.autodesk.com/au-online/classes-on-demand/class-catalog/2014/autodesk-cam-software/msf6182#chapter=0

http://au.autodesk.com/au-online/classes-on-demand/class-catalog/2016/fabrication-camduct/msf21512-l


Offline lsm_drafter

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 406
  • Country: us
Re: Moving Plasma Tables
« Reply #5 on: Feb 13, 2018, 10:22:01 PM »
If you have an existing setup that works, it's likely easiest to use the same software//setup you previously used.

This. Save the controller file you are currently using and use this for your new install.
You've got to eat them before they eat you!
CADmep 2015, SP1, AutoCAD 2015 x64
Windows 10 x64 on Samsung 840 120gb SSD, Core2Duo 3.33ghz 8gb RAM
2GB NVidia GeForce GTX660, Dual 22" Monitors

Offline ZkayyaliTopic starter

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Moving Plasma Tables
« Reply #6 on: Feb 14, 2018, 12:57:39 PM »
Thank you all, these resources and answers were exactly what I was looking for. 

We will soon be testing our serial connection, and work on migrating to an Ethernet configuration.