Author Topic: CAD Settings  (Read 172 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline edsharpTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
CAD Settings
« on: Dec 06, 2018, 02:05:06 PM »
i am in the process of switching our detailers over to local databases instead of network....

the user's local CAD settings are different than the network . What file do these settings live in so i can migrate them locally

Online Darren Young

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1426
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • Hermancon Company LLP
Re: CAD Settings
« Reply #1 on: Dec 06, 2018, 02:57:22 PM »
CADINFO.MAP

Offline edsharpTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: CAD Settings
« Reply #2 on: Dec 06, 2018, 03:13:43 PM »
Thanks, that's the one

Offline shilgartner

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: CAD Settings
« Reply #3 on: Dec 06, 2018, 05:28:34 PM »
Curiously, why would you want to do that?

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1290
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: CAD Settings
« Reply #4 on: Dec 06, 2018, 08:05:13 PM »
Curiously, why would you want to do that?

Ditto

I await all the future posts from you concerning issues caused by doing this!
I do NOT offer support to forum postings via email, IRC or any form of instant messaging network. If you want help, ask here!
Building Design Suite Premium 2016 | Fabrication CADmep 2016 | Windows 8.1 64-bit.

Offline VirtualPilot

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6445
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: CAD Settings
« Reply #5 on: Dec 06, 2018, 08:11:00 PM »
Curiously, why would you want to do that?

Ditto

I await all the future posts from you concerning issues caused by doing this!

True, one Database is one huge headache, 5 of them is "I'm quitting!"  ;D
Santos Cedeno
CAD/BIM Mgr - DIXIE Metal Products

Online Darren Young

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1426
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • Hermancon Company LLP
Re: CAD Settings
« Reply #6 on: Dec 06, 2018, 08:52:39 PM »
Most common reason....things like Top of Pipe/Btm of Pipe vs Top of Insul/Bottom of Insul vs Centerline tend to get changed when annotating. If it's network, you gotta lock people out or they keep stepping on each other.

Easiest way to to have it local. A simple script to keep the local sync'd is all that's needed, you just exclude syncing the CADINFO.MAP.

Alternatively, you could place multiple "user" folders on the network, each with their own MAP.INI file and use relative pathing to have all of them point to the same database. CADINFO.MAP resides in the same folder as MAP.INI so each user would be mapped to a seperate MAP.INI (hence seperate CADINFO.MAP) but the relative pathing would point them all to the same database.

I don't do this per user but I do per trade so that pipe fitters see Ft-In dims for lengths and no dia symbol for round but sheetmetal guys see fractional inch lengths and get a dia symbol for round duct.


Offline edsharpTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: CAD Settings
« Reply #7 on: Dec 07, 2018, 08:48:55 PM »
My apologies, I was a not clear on my intentions

We sync our local machine to a network drive. The detailers only have access to destroy there own copy on a daily basis. That is even restricted on what they can do, but just as Darren stated different task have different settings.

So I needed to exclude copying ONLY that file on every sync.

Thanks Darren for clarifying, we only use one database.