Author Topic: Swapping Out Different Fittings  (Read 1813 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chris4455Topic starter

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 419
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Swapping Out Different Fittings
« on: Dec 19, 2018, 17:22:25 PM »
What controls the fittings that you can swap one for another?
MEP 2010 2.40.036/052 /64 bit/ Vista

Offline davidratx

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1402
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Swapping Out Different Fittings
« Reply #1 on: Dec 19, 2018, 17:30:41 PM »
Right now there are no controls. Autodesk is hard coding what patterns they think are interchangeable. Lots of room for improvement here.
David Ronson
TDIndustries Director of Construction Technologies
Windows 10 - Revit - AutoCAD - CADmep - ESTmep - CAMduct - GTP Stratus

Offline chris4455Topic starter

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 419
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Swapping Out Different Fittings
« Reply #2 on: Dec 19, 2018, 19:09:46 PM »
Thanks, I agree.  I was hoping I was doing something wrong.
MEP 2010 2.40.036/052 /64 bit/ Vista

Offline cadbyken

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5325
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Swapping Out Different Fittings
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2023, 13:16:42 PM »
I am assuming this is still the case since there aren't any significant updates in the software for years now?
Ken Taylor - Atlantic Constructors, Inc
BIM Technology & Database Manager
Revit - not ready for Primetime given all of the add-ons, work arounds, and general issues with Fabrication in Revit.  Tired of them taking our money for little results.

Offline Darren Young

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2102
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • BIM There Done That.
Re: Swapping Out Different Fittings
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2023, 16:21:08 PM »
Yes. And swapping via the Type selector also resets all the part GUID's to zero's. Been a real headache for Stratus and anyone that wants to use the part GUID's for tracking.

Offline cadbyken

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5325
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Swapping Out Different Fittings
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2023, 17:56:11 PM »
Yes. And swapping via the Type selector also resets all the part GUID's to zero's. Been a real headache for Stratus and anyone that wants to use the part GUID's for tracking.
Type Selector?  Not following...
Ken Taylor - Atlantic Constructors, Inc
BIM Technology & Database Manager
Revit - not ready for Primetime given all of the add-ons, work arounds, and general issues with Fabrication in Revit.  Tired of them taking our money for little results.

Offline Darren Young

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2102
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • BIM There Done That.
Re: Swapping Out Different Fittings
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2023, 00:24:58 AM »
"Type Selector" is what they call that control in the first image.


Offline davidratx

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1402
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Swapping Out Different Fittings
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2023, 01:38:08 AM »
It also doesn't seem to like swapping BoughtOut parts for Manufactured parts. In most cases the Service spec fails to be applied. I think it's trying to carryover the setting on the Bought part.
David Ronson
TDIndustries Director of Construction Technologies
Windows 10 - Revit - AutoCAD - CADmep - ESTmep - CAMduct - GTP Stratus