Author Topic: Lock Pipe Length  (Read 6959 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1409
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Lock Pipe Length
« on: Jan 30, 2019, 19:11:52 PM »
I am building a system that has certain lengths of pipe that are not typically cut (8 different length variations).
I am trying to find a way to lock it so designline does not cut the longest pipe and instead moves to the next longest length and tries to fit it in.

Does anyone know how this could be done? I have tried locking the actual length condition, but it still cuts the pipe shorter and does not move to the next listing.

Thank you.
Christopher Nash
Operations Software & Process Manager
William R. Nash, LLC.

Offline Darren Young

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2102
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • BIM There Done That.
Re: Lock Pipe Length
« Reply #1 on: Jan 30, 2019, 19:54:23 PM »
Blucher?

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1409
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Lock Pipe Length
« Reply #2 on: Jan 30, 2019, 21:04:11 PM »
Blucher?

No sir. This is specifically for Josam Stainless Steel Push-Fit but I see this potentially coming up in the future as well.

I have everything built, everything works great except I want to limit the pipe lengths and it's being stubborn.
Christopher Nash
Operations Software & Process Manager
William R. Nash, LLC.

Offline Darren Young

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2102
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • BIM There Done That.
Re: Lock Pipe Length
« Reply #3 on: Jan 30, 2019, 21:54:19 PM »
Same/Similar product to Blucher. Blucher typically costs more but is a better product. Several have told me Josam won't even hold head pressure.

Design your parts for the longest piece. When you get into coordination, you don't want your guys swapping parts to get longer/shorter pieces.

When you're cone, a simple COD script can be used to apply the proper part/model number based on the length if you like but I've found that the distributors are happy to take a cut list of lengths and do the work for you considering the price of the product.

BTW, it's cheaper to buy double couplings and cut the long pieces if the local inspector will let you. However most require that the waste flows per the products hub configuration. Which is ironic because I've seen full length shipped from the factory that were smaller cut pieces assembled w/double couplings.


Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1409
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Lock Pipe Length
« Reply #4 on: Jan 31, 2019, 13:15:48 PM »
I was hoping we could get it to work correctly in the beginning for our ESTmep users and then on to Revit as well.

We have the same issue with double hub fittings being a problem for inspectors so we try to stay away from them as much as we can.
Christopher Nash
Operations Software & Process Manager
William R. Nash, LLC.

Offline madcad

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 350
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: Lock Pipe Length
« Reply #5 on: Jan 31, 2019, 15:15:47 PM »
Have you tried the coupling CID#2522.
Potentially you could product list the different available lengths. Longest first.
Have this first in your button pallet followed by a regular CID#2041 pipe.
Not tested it but I would expect it would fill with a long piece then a short piece then a cut.

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1409
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Lock Pipe Length
« Reply #6 on: Feb 05, 2019, 20:34:26 PM »
Have you tried the coupling CID#2522.
Potentially you could product list the different available lengths. Longest first.
Have this first in your button pallet followed by a regular CID#2041 pipe.
Not tested it but I would expect it would fill with a long piece then a short piece then a cut.

The pipes are hubbed on one end. I don't think this would work.
I wish it would. I'm still trying to figure this out. Hope there is some way to get it done.
Christopher Nash
Operations Software & Process Manager
William R. Nash, LLC.

Offline madcad

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 350
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: Lock Pipe Length
« Reply #7 on: Feb 06, 2019, 09:12:17 AM »
Just use the same end connectors as the pipe. The Hub is not part of the CID, its a connector pattern.

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1409
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Lock Pipe Length
« Reply #8 on: Feb 06, 2019, 15:08:16 PM »
Just use the same end connectors as the pipe. The Hub is not part of the CID, its a connector pattern.

I tried to lock the length and place all in one .ITM with the correct lengths.
It still only pulls the first length that matches the size, so even if it's only 4' long piece it places a +8' long piece (not visually, but virtually).
Christopher Nash
Operations Software & Process Manager
William R. Nash, LLC.

Offline madcad

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 350
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: Lock Pipe Length
« Reply #9 on: Feb 07, 2019, 09:23:29 AM »
Even when using CID#2522? or another CID that can't be stretched with the length product listed?

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1409
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Lock Pipe Length
« Reply #10 on: Feb 07, 2019, 20:51:59 PM »
Even when using CID#2522? or another CID that can't be stretched with the length product listed?

I guess I'm not sure if I am understanding you. I have items with #2522 in the service for double hub fittings/couplings and then the pipe is the regular #2041.
Are you saying to use #2522 as the pipe? I don't believe it will fill in designline.
Christopher Nash
Operations Software & Process Manager
William R. Nash, LLC.

Offline madcad

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 350
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: Lock Pipe Length
« Reply #11 on: Feb 08, 2019, 10:36:41 AM »
Yest, or any other CID that cant be stretched in on screen.

Offline Steadtler

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 57
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Lock Pipe Length
« Reply #12 on: Feb 08, 2019, 13:57:09 PM »
Unless you invest in some major customization, you will probably have to settle for manual placement of the pipe lengths as fittings.

What you are attempting is to develop pipe that not only can be stretched (cut to length) but pipe that acts like a fitting (fixed lengths) – and to 3DFill with designline.

Take a look at the illustrated example below.

Consider a 10 foot long designline line.  You have 3 different pipe lengths available – 4, 6 and 8 foot. If we ignore the difficulties with developing proper button codes and mapping, which of the configurations would you expect CADmep to implement?

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1409
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Lock Pipe Length
« Reply #13 on: Feb 08, 2019, 14:33:55 PM »
Unless you invest in some major customization, you will probably have to settle for manual placement of the pipe lengths as fittings.

What you are attempting is to develop pipe that not only can be stretched (cut to length) but pipe that acts like a fitting (fixed lengths) – and to 3DFill with designline.

Take a look at the illustrated example below.

Consider a 10 foot long designline line.  You have 3 different pipe lengths available – 4, 6 and 8 foot. If we ignore the difficulties with developing proper button codes and mapping, which of the configurations would you expect CADmep to implement?

Really I just want it to go down the line. for a 10' segment if the pipes are made in 8,6,4,3,2,1 ft sections I would want it to place a 8 and then a 2.
for an 11' segment I would want an 8 and then a 3, etc, etc. If it has to cut off something I would want it off the smallest piece that will fit. so if it's 11'6" segment I would want an 8 and then a cut 4.

I know this is probably difficult, but I would really like something like this to work and it doesn't seem like it's that crazy of a request.
Christopher Nash
Operations Software & Process Manager
William R. Nash, LLC.

Offline Steadtler

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 57
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Lock Pipe Length
« Reply #14 on: Feb 09, 2019, 02:30:32 AM »
Darren was on the right track....

Set the pipe length to some VERY large value - a value which would insure that design line will only ever have 1 piece of pipe between consecutive pipe fittings - one that will always be a cut piece to fit.

Instead of manually placing all the set length pipes you create a report which lists each pipe individually.  Individual information is then extracted from the model and sent to a a vendor for them to figure it out or sent to a spreadsheet to process the long single pieces. 

The spreadsheet could be automated to segment the single pipes into whatever quantities of lengths you want to use (and avoiding the lengths you don't want to stock/use) until you are left with one small cut piece.

This would let designline fill completely.