Author Topic: Duct Costs  (Read 308 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1084
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Duct Costs
« on: Jul 11, 2019, 01:44:41 PM »
How is everyone currently doing the costing for ductwork?
I am investigating different ways to see how we can improve our process.
Christopher Nash
BIM/Estimating Support
William R. Nash Companies

Offline DDI Ltd

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • http://www.ddi-ltd.co.uk
Re: Duct Costs
« Reply #1 on: Jul 11, 2019, 02:08:33 PM »
we dont use it, but ESTduct.
Gary Hussey - Ductwork Design & Installation Ltd

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1084
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Duct Costs
« Reply #2 on: Jul 11, 2019, 02:30:49 PM »
we dont use it, but ESTduct.

We have been using EST for a long time.
I am talking specifically how one is costing in EST.
Product lists? breakpoint tables? Just exporting total pounds? Any other ways?
Christopher Nash
BIM/Estimating Support
William R. Nash Companies

Offline DDI Ltd

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • http://www.ddi-ltd.co.uk
Re: Duct Costs
« Reply #3 on: Jul 11, 2019, 04:25:29 PM »
We have been using EST for a long time.
I am talking specifically how one is costing in EST.
Product lists? breakpoint tables? Just exporting total pounds? Any other ways?

I will be very interested in learning this also, if anyone has any info?
Gary Hussey - Ductwork Design & Installation Ltd

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1084
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Duct Costs
« Reply #4 on: Jul 11, 2019, 04:44:21 PM »
I will be very interested in learning this also, if anyone has any info?
We currently pull pounds and then for some items quantities for specific costs.
Working on making this more like our piping takeoff where we pull out specific cost and labor.
Christopher Nash
BIM/Estimating Support
William R. Nash Companies

Offline bknapton

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 945
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • Mared Mechanical
Re: Duct Costs
« Reply #5 on: Jul 11, 2019, 05:39:24 PM »
I'm setting it up that if it's fabricated in shop to pull cost via weights for rectangular.  We buy all round so that would be pointed to a pricing table, either product listed or breakdown depending on fitting.
Fabrication 2019

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1084
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Duct Costs
« Reply #6 on: Jul 12, 2019, 06:42:45 PM »
I'm setting it up that if it's fabricated in shop to pull cost via weights for rectangular.  We buy all round so that would be pointed to a pricing table, either product listed or breakdown depending on fitting.

Are you using breakpoint tables by size and wire gauge? or are you separating wire gauge into separate tables?
Christopher Nash
BIM/Estimating Support
William R. Nash Companies

Offline craigjonnson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 67
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Male
Re: Duct Costs
« Reply #7 on: Aug 02, 2019, 09:48:14 AM »
We setup ours by breakpoint tables based on size and gauge for each material as well as search tables for lining thicknesses. There was an update in 2017 that screwed up our installation tables for lined ductwork. this meant a reconfiguration had to change ‘As Skin Decoiled Length’ to ‘As Decoiled Length’ And ‘As Skin small Length’ to ‘As Small Length’.

I seem to keep making adjustments to the setup each time Autodesk releases a new update.