Author Topic: How to Add Item-Dimension-List-# Field in Calc?  (Read 1141 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jaysomlamTopic starter

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 427
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
How to Add Item-Dimension-List-# Field in Calc?
« on: Apr 24, 2020, 13:51:22 PM »
I am trying to use ADDREPORT command to create a report and embed the report on a drawing.  But I cannot add any "Item Dimension List #" field into the Calc field.  When I try to add it to a Calc field, its name doesn't show up in the drop-down pick list.  When I type in the field name directly in the Calc field, the program complains that the Calc field needs a Number.  This means somehow the report program thinks that the "Item Dimension List #" is NOT a number.  This is strange because the rest of the report program clearly treats the "Item Dimension List #" field as a number (it allows me to specify how many decimal place that field needs; obviously the report program treats it as a number).

What I am trying to do is to use the Calc field to total the Length, Inset in one side, and Inset in the other side.  What this means is that I want to be able to enter this formula in the Calc field:
   Item Dimension List #3 + Item Dimension List #4 + Item Dimension List #5

Please let me know how I can do this.  Thanks.

Jaysom

Offline bobcat09

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 458
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to Add Item-Dimension-List-# Field in Calc?
« Reply #1 on: Apr 24, 2020, 14:23:32 PM »
Make sure to Display Data for Index# and set the value. The value will be equal to the Dim's on the item under the Dim's tab, 1=A, 2=B, 3=C etc. It appears there is not a Calculated Field print object in addreports but you can add another Item Dim List field to add the Calc. Once you add the Calc, you can choose to not output the other values. What I find helpful, rename the print object, Item Dimension List #1 (calc), this lets me know it's being used for a calc when I have to come back and modify or troubleshoot the report. Same goes for print objects I use for filters, adding (filter) to the print object name.
Lyle Janda
TDIndustries
Windows 10- AutoCAD - CADmep - ESTmep - CAMduct - Revit - Navisworks

Offline jaysomlamTopic starter

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 427
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to Add Item-Dimension-List-# Field in Calc?
« Reply #2 on: Apr 24, 2020, 14:27:18 PM »
This is really odd.  I have already done what you have suggested (shown in both pictures that you shared).  But I still cannot get the Item Dimension List # fields to show up in Calc field.

Jaysom

Offline bobcat09

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 458
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to Add Item-Dimension-List-# Field in Calc?
« Reply #3 on: Apr 24, 2020, 14:37:54 PM »
Do you have the field you want to add the calc to below the calc fields? I forgot to mention that, the print object that requires the calc, needs to be below the other print objects to add them.
Lyle Janda
TDIndustries
Windows 10- AutoCAD - CADmep - ESTmep - CAMduct - Revit - Navisworks

Offline jaysomlamTopic starter

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 427
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to Add Item-Dimension-List-# Field in Calc?
« Reply #4 on: Apr 24, 2020, 14:48:47 PM »
YOUR SUGGESTION WORKS!!

THANKS!

Jaysom

Offline dopefish

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: How to Add Item-Dimension-List-# Field in Calc?
« Reply #5 on: Jul 24, 2020, 05:00:50 AM »
You guys just helped me sort out another issue! Thanks for being active on here! Now I can sort horizontal and vertical pipe on my refrigeration line reports and my racking estimates.
"And the wood header is still 4  3/4" on top of the top of the double top plate." . . . Random VDC Coodinator

I love coordination