Author Topic: Step down connectors  (Read 268 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mafu1267Topic starter

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Male
Step down connectors
« on: Jul 06, 2020, 07:46:22 AM »
I've read up on numerous posts relating to this issue & everyone seems to get this sorted or a work around, however I cannot seem to get a satisfactory result
I have a 50mm step down to a raw edge on one end of both a transition and an #866 straight
The graphic on the takeoff view shows a correct length of 950mm for both, however when I develop the items they are both at 1000mm - 50mm too large
I think I have tried every combination possible within the connector setting, but cannot seem to get this sorted.
Shrinking the dimension by 50mm is not really an option, as we are looking to spool straight from REVIT
I've got the same issue in 2018, 2020 & 2021 CAMduct & ESTmep

Hoping someone can enlighten me as to what I am missing

Offline Jona

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Step down connectors
« Reply #1 on: Jul 06, 2020, 05:30:48 PM »
I'm having the same problem. I don't think we're missing anything. From the few post that are out there is feels like this has been broken since day 1 and never fully addressed.

Offline bparrell

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8804
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Step down connectors
« Reply #2 on: Jul 07, 2020, 01:31:37 AM »
Been this way since the dawn of CADduct
The SoCAL (VERY OLDMAN NOW) Kid! LOOKING FORWARD TO MORE  HOLIDAYS BOB  ::) ::)  
WIN 10 O.S
Fabrication 2018/BDSU 2018
RUDOLPH and SLETTEN
MEP COORDINATOR

Offline mafu1267Topic starter

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Male
Re: Step down connectors
« Reply #3 on: Jul 07, 2020, 02:44:18 AM »
Thought so, but I thought I 'd read on one of the forum posts somewhere that the issue had been fixed - or was this a different step down issue

Offline craigjonnson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Male
Re: Step down connectors
« Reply #4 on: Jul 07, 2020, 07:59:31 AM »
If you are exporting out of Revit 2018. The drawn length with stepped ends reduces in length by 50mm or 100mm if stepped both ends within CAM, EST & FAB.

The fix as you mentioned, fixed this issue in 2019 and onwards. Whatever gets drawn in Revit, exports out at the correct length.

However, the length value within CADmep is still reporting 50mm shorter. The pattern development is correct. As a workaround, CAD users punch in the length value minus the stepped end. 1000mm would be 950mm. The developed pattern would make a 1000mm duct including the 50mm stepped end.

Offline edh

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 499
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Step down connectors
« Reply #5 on: Jul 07, 2020, 10:38:01 AM »
This is what we use on our step down connectors  and so far they all report the correct length on the drawing and develop correct and the length shown on the drawing. The connectors will not work without liner applied. Autocad fabrication 2019, not sure about Revit.
http://www.xtracad.com/forum/index.php/topic,15680

Don

Offline mafu1267Topic starter

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Male
Re: Step down connectors
« Reply #6 on: Jul 13, 2020, 10:02:07 PM »
I did try this prior to posting the query, but was not able to get it to work - must have missed something so I'll have another look