Author Topic: Riser Clamps  (Read 2212 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1302
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Riser Clamps
« on: Jul 25, 2019, 21:04:37 PM »
We had this problem before and I thought it was resolved (maybe it was the "new" CIDs which we reverted back away from?)
When we try and place a riser clamp in Revit it will only place on horizontal piping, not vertical.
Anyone know what might be causing this?

I haven't tried the "new" patterns in awhile since we reverted back from them mainly because when used on sloped piping in revit it also applies the slope to the hanger.
Christopher Nash
VDC Content Manager/Support
William R. Nash Companies

Offline Alina

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 920
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Female
Re: Riser Clamps
« Reply #1 on: Jul 25, 2019, 21:17:16 PM »
We are experiencing the same issue with CID#838. It seems to work in Revit 2018 but not in 2019
The new type is 1242 but it does not work vertically either

Offline dopefish

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 283
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Riser Clamps
« Reply #2 on: Aug 31, 2020, 17:09:39 PM »
So one of my users just ran into this issue. Has anyone found solutions to the vertical clamps issue. I feel like a jerk for not being able to answer this for my team. We are moving into Revit and I have very little experience with it.
"And the wood header is still 4  3/4" on top of the top of the double top plate." . . . Random VDC Coodinator

I love coordination

Offline Axl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 95
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Riser Clamps
« Reply #3 on: Nov 05, 2020, 21:46:34 PM »
Please test this one, not sure if it works but worth a try.
CADmep DB Manager
Content Manager
Scripting

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1302
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Riser Clamps
« Reply #4 on: Mar 29, 2021, 19:08:45 PM »
Following up on this as it was just brought back up to my attention. Anyone found a solution?
Christopher Nash
VDC Content Manager/Support
William R. Nash Companies

Offline DotNet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 234
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • MICLOGIC
Re: Riser Clamps
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2021, 16:27:19 PM »
Riser clamps are classified as MEP Fabrication Hangers in Revit and these Elements are hard coded with unwanted behavior for riser clamps. Unfortunately there are really only two options here. Create and place loose ITMs or create and place loose Families.

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1302
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Riser Clamps
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2021, 14:12:13 PM »
Riser clamps are classified as MEP Fabrication Hangers in Revit and these Elements are hard coded with unwanted behavior for riser clamps. Unfortunately there are really only two options here. Create and place loose ITMs or create and place loose Families.

That's what I'm gathering which is unfortunate.
Christopher Nash
VDC Content Manager/Support
William R. Nash Companies

Offline tomsak3

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Riser Clamps
« Reply #7 on: Oct 05, 2021, 18:46:24 PM »
CID#838, Type Slide, cuts in on the vertical in Revit for me.

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1302
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Riser Clamps
« Reply #8 on: Oct 05, 2021, 19:05:16 PM »
CID#838, Type Slide, cuts in on the vertical in Revit for me.
Never used Slides for Riserc Clamps TBH. Been using the Clipped Flat Strap Hanger. May have to do a little bit of digging and see if this could work for us.
Christopher Nash
VDC Content Manager/Support
William R. Nash Companies

Offline madcad

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: Riser Clamps
« Reply #9 on: Oct 06, 2021, 02:35:47 AM »
We abandoned CIDs for hangers because of this unreasonable behaviour the minute we started using Revit.
I developed a set of families that can host on the ITM pipe.
They have to be manually sized in the properties pallet but they work.

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1302
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Riser Clamps
« Reply #10 on: Oct 06, 2021, 18:03:36 PM »
So as tomsak3 stated if you change the pattern to Type "Slide" they will work in Revit and visually (after some playing around) look more like Riser Clamps.
Now I have to see how I can make sleeves work as well, as they were using the same pattern so we can get predictable behavior.
Christopher Nash
VDC Content Manager/Support
William R. Nash Companies

Offline tomsak3

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Riser Clamps
« Reply #11 on: Oct 06, 2021, 19:06:13 PM »
I use CID#149 for sleeves and utilized materials to upsize when cutting in the sleeve.

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1302
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Riser Clamps
« Reply #12 on: Oct 06, 2021, 21:11:11 PM »
I use CID#149 for sleeves and utilized materials to upsize when cutting in the sleeve.

I will check out this pattern. From a quick look it seems like a ductwork pattern which sometimes causes issues in piping services, but I'm going to try and see what I can get out of it.

Edit: It's not only a ductwork pattern, I am still having some issues but I am trying to work through them. Will update as I figure it out.
« Last Edit: Oct 06, 2021, 21:20:58 PM by cnash »
Christopher Nash
VDC Content Manager/Support
William R. Nash Companies

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1302
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Riser Clamps
« Reply #13 on: Oct 07, 2021, 12:52:01 PM »
Update: Pattern 149 may work well in Revit and visually looks good for sleeves, but it will not work in ESTmep/CADmep in designline from my testing. So we are going to have to take another route.
Christopher Nash
VDC Content Manager/Support
William R. Nash Companies