Author Topic: CAMduct Opus  (Read 750 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jcarsonTopic starter

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
CAMduct Opus
« on: Dec 01, 2021, 12:28:26 PM »
Hello.
Our shop foreman, who has been using Vulcan for years, is now having difficulty making the switch to using Opus to layout custom patterns that he wants to burn.  Are there any third party addons that can make Opus less clunky to draw with? Any tutorials that could help with the transition?  Thanks in advance for any recommendations.

Offline zhenja83

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: ru
  • Gender: Male
Re: CAMduct Opus
« Reply #1 on: Dec 01, 2021, 13:06:01 PM »
Hi
If it hard to draw in CAMduct, you can use another sofware like AutoCAD and then import your drawing into CAMduct in dxf format.

Offline Darren Young

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1937
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • BIM There Done That.
Re: CAMduct Opus
« Reply #2 on: Dec 02, 2021, 04:04:54 AM »
No add-ons. No training materials that I can think of.

How complex are the parts they're trying to draw?

Offline bobcat09

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: CAMduct Opus
« Reply #3 on: Dec 02, 2021, 14:19:38 PM »
Here's a video that autodesk put out a while back, info still applies.

Using Opus in Fabrication CAMduct
https://youtu.be/WXVc_cc-P_Q
Lyle Janda
TDIndustries
Windows 10- AutoCAD - CADmep - ESTmep - CAMduct - Revit - Navisworks

Offline VirtualPilot

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6671
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: CAMduct Opus
« Reply #4 on: Dec 02, 2021, 15:21:51 PM »
As stated above, the best way is using AutoCAD to lay out the parts then importing via DXF
Santos Cedeno
CAD/BIM Mgr - DIXIE Metal Products

Offline Darren Young

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1937
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • BIM There Done That.
Re: CAMduct Opus
« Reply #5 on: Dec 06, 2021, 22:08:05 PM »
Here's a video that autodesk put out a while back, info still applies.

Using Opus in Fabrication CAMduct
https://youtu.be/WXVc_cc-P_Q

Lyle, you mentioned Autodesk in the same sentence. Is it even worth clicking on the link? :-)

Offline bobcat09

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: CAMduct Opus
« Reply #6 on: Dec 06, 2021, 22:12:15 PM »
Lyle, you mentioned Autodesk in the same sentence. Is it even worth clicking on the link? :-)

Lol. Technically, Enceptia did the videos for Autodesk, I was trying to be PC. There is some good content in those videos, basic stuff but still worth watching for new users IMO.
Lyle Janda
TDIndustries
Windows 10- AutoCAD - CADmep - ESTmep - CAMduct - Revit - Navisworks

Offline Jona

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: CAMduct Opus
« Reply #7 on: Dec 14, 2021, 22:27:15 PM »
Hello.
Our shop foreman, who has been using Vulcan for years, is now having difficulty making the switch to using Opus to layout custom patterns that he wants to burn.  Are there any third party addons that can make Opus less clunky to draw with? Any tutorials that could help with the transition?  Thanks in advance for any recommendations.

This may be of help

https://help.autodesk.com/view/FABRICATION/ENU/?guid=GUID-EE6EF8AA-FB07-4239-A8C6-7EEBBD608F23