Author Topic: Remapping Fabrication Parts CID For Use In Revit  (Read 271 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Nicholas-NTopic starter

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Remapping Fabrication Parts CID For Use In Revit
« on: May 24, 2022, 18:09:45 PM »
Hello all and thank you for your time,

I have gone thru and created sleeves in Autocad with the end goal of being able to use the Trimble for laying out wall sleeves. I am using the pattern 910 as it will give me a point in the center of the duct or pipe that Trimble will reckonize. I just realized that CID#910 is not compatible with Revit. Is there any way I can do something in the database in order for Revit to recognize the part I want to use?

Offline wwessels

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 95
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Remapping Fabrication Parts CID For Use In Revit
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2022, 00:43:34 AM »
I think you will need to go with pattern 149 for use in Revit.
If your sleeves are product listed you can copy over the the product lists to those.
We had to make that switch when we transitioned to Revit.
If the point exporter you use doesn't work with those let me know and I can post some Revit API code to that will allow you to get points for them

Offline Nicholas-NTopic starter

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Remapping Fabrication Parts CID For Use In Revit
« Reply #2 on: Jun 02, 2022, 15:18:23 PM »
Thank you for your advice on this. I am not too familiar with product lists as my background is Mechanical Duct. My understanding is that there are too many variations in sizes with ductwork ( could be any even number from 4" to 240" for example in width or depth ) to efficiently use product lists but I am always looking for a better understanding if I am mistaken. Does CID 149 have the ability to be rectangular? If not that is my other obstacle. Worse case scenario I may have to take the duct out of Revit as a MAJ and then place the sleeves using Autocad. Will not be productive but in the end it will be faster than having the field team layout all the openings based on PDF's.

Offline wwessels

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 95
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Remapping Fabrication Parts CID For Use In Revit
« Reply #3 on: Jun 08, 2022, 16:24:03 PM »
I don't think 149 can be rectangular and I don't have a lot of experience with Duct work so I don't know of a pattern right off hand that is rectangular and has that form of connectivity where it attaches to the centerline with out cutting the duct. But there might be one. I have also not found a way for families to have that kind of connectivity either.