...serving the BIM community since 2003
Welcome,
Guest
. Please
login
or
register
.
1 Hour
1 Day
1 Week
1 Month
Forever
Login with username, password and session length
Home
Forum
Login
Contact
Register
XtraCAD.com
»
Fabrication in Revit®
»
Dynamo for Autodesk® Revit
»
Creating a sublist in Dynamo
« previous
next »
Print
Pages: [
1
]
Go Down
Author
Topic: Creating a sublist in Dynamo (Read 5281 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
bitterfitter
Senior Member
Posts: 451
Country:
Gender:
Creating a sublist in Dynamo
«
on:
Feb 09, 2022, 19:39:44 PM »
Hoping this is an easy one. I have a list of unique items in Dynamo. I am looking to group them by similar items into sublists. My hope is to then use that sublist to be able to count the number of items in each list to get a total for my BOM schedule.
Example: I have a list of items A,B,C,D,E,B,C,D,F,D
Get a list like: A
B,B
C,C
D,D,D
E
F
Then get quantity: A=1 B=2 C=2 D=3 E=1 F=1
Logged
"If you think education is expensive, you should see what ignorance costs you"
Axl
Full Member
Posts: 178
Country:
Gender:
Re: Creating a sublist in Dynamo
«
Reply #1 on:
Feb 09, 2022, 20:12:46 PM »
There is a few way to achieve that,
first easy one is using a simple code block, X == A , the result is a boolean can can be counted with List.CountTrue node
you can use python code and other nodes but I think this is the easiest way to do it
Logged
CADmep DB Manager
Content Manager
Scripting
bitterfitter
Senior Member
Posts: 451
Country:
Gender:
Re: Creating a sublist in Dynamo
«
Reply #2 on:
Feb 10, 2022, 12:41:37 PM »
Thanks Axl for the suggestion. I am not sure if this would give me the results I need. I think I should have been clearer in what I am trying to achieve. I have my Ancillaries as an output per support element. Some are repeating, some are unique. My thought was to place them all into one list and then group the similar items together in the list. I am hoping then from here to get each unique ancillary and its quantity.
The hardest part for me is after years of doing this in reports in CADmep, I now have to retrain my brain to do this a totally different way.
My objective with all this is to output all the ancillaries for my hangers from a project and then create a schedule that shows them and their quantities required.
Logged
"If you think education is expensive, you should see what ignorance costs you"
bitterfitter
Senior Member
Posts: 451
Country:
Gender:
Re: Creating a sublist in Dynamo
«
Reply #3 on:
Feb 14, 2022, 16:35:45 PM »
So I might be on the wrong track here but I feel like I am in the home stretch. I am reporting my ancillaries now, but they only get listed once no matter how many there are. The quantity is a separate field so I can list that also. Now in order to use this in my BOM, I think I need to find a way to have the item in the fist list show up the number of times it is called out in the second list. As the index numbers match, this again doesn't seem like it should be super difficult. Just finding the correct node as I am still learning all that are out there and what they can do. I feel like I have the correct ancillary listed the correct number of times, then I can maybe dump into a parameter, bring it into a column in a schedule and group/count it there. I sure do miss my CADmep reports about now
Logged
"If you think education is expensive, you should see what ignorance costs you"
Axl
Full Member
Posts: 178
Country:
Gender:
Re: Creating a sublist in Dynamo
«
Reply #4 on:
Feb 14, 2022, 19:22:02 PM »
There is a node you can use to multiply the item by the number you found,
Logged
CADmep DB Manager
Content Manager
Scripting
bitterfitter
Senior Member
Posts: 451
Country:
Gender:
Re: Creating a sublist in Dynamo
«
Reply #5 on:
Feb 14, 2022, 20:20:10 PM »
Axl -Brilliant!! Is this what you were thinking?
Logged
"If you think education is expensive, you should see what ignorance costs you"
Axl
Full Member
Posts: 178
Country:
Gender:
Re: Creating a sublist in Dynamo
«
Reply #6 on:
Feb 14, 2022, 21:35:06 PM »
Sorry but I can't see what the blocks are, the image is too blurry, if you want a good quality image, In Dynamo go to File > Export Workspace as and Image, save the file and you can post that one here
Logged
CADmep DB Manager
Content Manager
Scripting
bitterfitter
Senior Member
Posts: 451
Country:
Gender:
Re: Creating a sublist in Dynamo
«
Reply #7 on:
Feb 15, 2022, 12:45:45 PM »
That's a great tip to know. thanks I didn't preview the image as it was the very end of the day and I was running out the door. Hopefully this is better.
«
Last Edit: Feb 15, 2022, 12:48:11 PM by bitterfitter
»
Logged
"If you think education is expensive, you should see what ignorance costs you"
Axl
Full Member
Posts: 178
Country:
Gender:
Re: Creating a sublist in Dynamo
«
Reply #8 on:
Feb 15, 2022, 13:44:56 PM »
looking good so far, I don't know how you plan to create an schedule with the list, but I usually export as CSV that you can then open in Excel (In my case I open with Python and do more stuff), there is a node to export to CSV you can use for that, you only need to plug it and define the destination directory and name of the file.
You can also plug the list to a Watch, then rename the watch (this step is required) to whatever you like, then right click the watch and check "Is Output", this will show the result in the Dynamo Player when you run it.
Logged
CADmep DB Manager
Content Manager
Scripting
1 Like
bitterfitter
likes this.
epond83
Active Member
Posts: 20
Country:
Gender:
Re: Creating a sublist in Dynamo
«
Reply #9 on:
Aug 18, 2022, 23:31:23 PM »
If you post your .dyn file it might be easier for people to look at what you are trying to do.
List.GroupByKey then count the items in each group might help.
The list structure isn't right for you but the node set up might help.
Logged
1 Like
PipeFitter72
likes this.
Print
Pages: [
1
]
Go Up
« previous
next »
XtraCAD.com
»
Fabrication in Revit®
»
Dynamo for Autodesk® Revit
»
Creating a sublist in Dynamo