Author Topic: Revit file has the wrong parts in it  (Read 942 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cadbykenTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5312
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Revit file has the wrong parts in it
« on: Nov 07, 2022, 21:50:47 PM »
Had a user open a Revit file and the wrong parts and wrong connectors were shown.  Of course, disconnects all over the place.  They are going  to have to remodel that pipe.

I am not even sure how this could be done but here are my thoughts:

  • Something went wrong with the Product Information (Mapprod).  That was my first thought but someone reminded me that connectors aren't in that file.
  • Dynamo script ran on file - we don't have any in the office that uses Dynamo so this isn't an obvious issue.  The file is being worked on by an outsourced company but not sure why they would have done that so I am going to rule this out for now
Any ideas/past experience on this issue?
Ken Taylor - Atlantic Constructors, Inc
BIM Technology & Database Manager
Revit - not ready for Primetime given all of the add-ons, work arounds, and general issues with Fabrication in Revit.  Tired of them taking our money for little results.

Offline Axl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 176
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Revit file has the wrong parts in it
« Reply #1 on: Nov 08, 2022, 12:52:03 PM »
I only seen it when I change the connector in CADmep for those fittings, a single change in the connector (if all the fittings use the same) makes the disconnections when they reload.

Test CADmep if the connectors are ok there, and if the outsourcing company is capable of reloading the Fabrication parts, they might changed the connector inadvertently if they have their own FabDB
CADmep DB Manager
Content Manager
Scripting

Offline cadbykenTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5312
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Revit file has the wrong parts in it
« Reply #2 on: Nov 08, 2022, 12:57:37 PM »
It works fine in AutoCAD

They can't reload the DB (project is in the cloud/DB is on our server which they don't have access too)
Ken Taylor - Atlantic Constructors, Inc
BIM Technology & Database Manager
Revit - not ready for Primetime given all of the add-ons, work arounds, and general issues with Fabrication in Revit.  Tired of them taking our money for little results.

Offline Axl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 176
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Revit file has the wrong parts in it
« Reply #3 on: Nov 08, 2022, 13:04:02 PM »
well, the other option could be that the detailer decided to change services back and forth, because you mentioned that there is wrong parts, Revit will autofill wrong parts when you do that.

Also a change in the connectors will force strange parts to be added in order to fulfill the connections
CADmep DB Manager
Content Manager
Scripting

Offline cadbykenTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5312
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Revit file has the wrong parts in it
« Reply #4 on: Nov 08, 2022, 13:56:45 PM »
Interesting...

we will continue to investigate this.

Thanks.
Ken Taylor - Atlantic Constructors, Inc
BIM Technology & Database Manager
Revit - not ready for Primetime given all of the add-ons, work arounds, and general issues with Fabrication in Revit.  Tired of them taking our money for little results.