Author Topic: Fabrication Parts Settings button not working  (Read 2028 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline patrydufTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1117
  • Country: ca
  • Gender: Male
Fabrication Parts Settings button not working
« on: Mar 07, 2023, 16:30:36 PM »
Hi all,
 Anyone encounter that situation where you click on the "Settings" button in the "MEP Fabrication Parts" and nothing happens?
No hidden dialog box, no warning, nothing.

What do you do in that case?

Revit 2022

Thanks
"Whether you think you can or you can't - YOU'RE RIGHT."
"Que vous croyiez pouvoir ou non - VOUS AVEZ RAISON."

Yvon Dufresne - Novybec
CADmep, CAMduct, Revit, eVolve

Offline madcad

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fabrication Parts Settings button not working
« Reply #1 on: Mar 07, 2023, 17:29:01 PM »
The only thing I can think of is making sure you are in a view and not a sheet.
Only just starting to test 2022.

Offline patrydufTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1117
  • Country: ca
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fabrication Parts Settings button not working
« Reply #2 on: Mar 07, 2023, 17:57:58 PM »
Madcad,
 Yes, I was in a plan view.
 The button is not grayed out. It looks like it is activated when hitting it, but... nothing.
If there was a hidden dialog, hitting the button again would provoque Windows to emit a "Dong!" sound.
But no... the button can be pressed again and again.
It's like the wire underneath it was unplugged.
"Whether you think you can or you can't - YOU'RE RIGHT."
"Que vous croyiez pouvoir ou non - VOUS AVEZ RAISON."

Yvon Dufresne - Novybec
CADmep, CAMduct, Revit, eVolve

Offline audiocycle

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 457
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fabrication Parts Settings button not working
« Reply #3 on: Mar 07, 2023, 18:30:20 PM »
I have this occur to me as well recently. If I recall, all I was able to do was synchronize, exit and reopen revit.

Barry Chupp
Autodesk Fabrication CADmep, Revit, Navisworks, Revizto, Stratus

Offline patrydufTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1117
  • Country: ca
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fabrication Parts Settings button not working
« Reply #4 on: Mar 07, 2023, 18:40:46 PM »
OK,
 I did synchronize, closed revit, reboot the machine, reopen revit and the model... still no action on the button.
I sent a case to Autodesk regarding this issue.
 Let's see if they find a solution before the group does!  ;D
"Whether you think you can or you can't - YOU'RE RIGHT."
"Que vous croyiez pouvoir ou non - VOUS AVEZ RAISON."

Yvon Dufresne - Novybec
CADmep, CAMduct, Revit, eVolve

Offline Jona

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fabrication Parts Settings button not working
« Reply #5 on: Mar 07, 2023, 21:37:35 PM »
The only thing I can think of would be if there was no FAB configuration for that year on your system yet.

Offline craigjonnson

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fabrication Parts Settings button not working
« Reply #6 on: Mar 08, 2023, 07:27:07 AM »
Yes i've had users with the same issue and I cannot suggest a fix to get it to work. You can access the database configuration off the ribbon. System > Fabrication > Click the down arrow. That always works. Refer to image.

Offline TFuller

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 940
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fabrication Parts Settings button not working
« Reply #7 on: Mar 08, 2023, 10:32:36 AM »
Interestingly, I encountered this yesterday in 2023.1.1. No amount of syncing or closing and reopening fixed. Can't remember if I did a full Revit shutdown or not.

I think I clicked on "Parts" and then back to the main "Services" tab to resolve it. I did not expect that to have worked, but it did.

Thomas N Fuller II

Offline ashb

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Female
Re: Fabrication Parts Settings button not working
« Reply #8 on: Mar 08, 2023, 14:17:59 PM »
This has happened to me also. I tried closing and reopening, syncing, and eventually just uninstalled and reinstalled the whole program to get it to work.

Yes i've had users with the same issue and I cannot suggest a fix to get it to work. You can access the database configuration off the ribbon. System > Fabrication > Click the down arrow. That always works. Refer to image.

I don't believe I tried using the arrow like this, so hopefully that works for you before it comes to doing a reinstall.

Offline patrydufTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1117
  • Country: ca
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fabrication Parts Settings button not working
« Reply #9 on: Mar 08, 2023, 14:54:01 PM »
Ok, after many manipulations...

while trying to load my Database, the process crashes and no warning and no error message is showing.
The database is not loaded and THEN, the settings button and the little arrow stops working.
I have to restard Revit in order to have the button or arrow to work and display the "Fabrication Settings" dialog.

With the button working, I tried to load the Autodesk Revit database and it worked like a charm. Tried changing to my database and crashed the same as above.

 So... Something is wrong with MY database?
Let's try in another environment. I tried in another station with Revit 2022.1 installed, and the same database loaded perfectly.

Ok, let's update Revit in the station #1 and see.
It works fine in a "new" project with a default Autodesk Construction template.
Now, let's try in the real BIM Cloud Model.
It WORKS!!!
"Whether you think you can or you can't - YOU'RE RIGHT."
"Que vous croyiez pouvoir ou non - VOUS AVEZ RAISON."

Yvon Dufresne - Novybec
CADmep, CAMduct, Revit, eVolve

Offline buildordie

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fabrication Parts Settings button not working
« Reply #10 on: Dec 08, 2023, 19:01:01 PM »
Hi everyone!

This has now happened to me :(

Any recent suggestions on possibly fixing this?

Thanks!

Offline patrydufTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1117
  • Country: ca
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fabrication Parts Settings button not working
« Reply #11 on: Dec 08, 2023, 19:15:50 PM »
Buildordie,
 For me, a Revit update worked.
 Maybe see if there is one available for your version..
Try on another station and if it works, find what is different from your environment.
I feel your pain.
"Whether you think you can or you can't - YOU'RE RIGHT."
"Que vous croyiez pouvoir ou non - VOUS AVEZ RAISON."

Yvon Dufresne - Novybec
CADmep, CAMduct, Revit, eVolve

Offline buildordie

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fabrication Parts Settings button not working
« Reply #12 on: Dec 11, 2023, 17:45:51 PM »
Buildordie,
 For me, a Revit update worked.
 Maybe see if there is one available for your version..
Try on another station and if it works, find what is different from your environment.
I feel your pain.

Hi patryduf,

Thanks for the reply.

Still no luck on my end.

If I start a new project file with the DB loaded and copy the objects from the project in question to the new, I receive a fatal error... D'oh! If I do the reverse, I get a DB mismatch error.. D'oh! I think that the DB within the project is now corrupt from re-loading my DB with changes too many times. if that's a thing??

My current workaround is to copy in parts and hope that doesn't bite me down the road!

Just wanted to share those thoughts.

Thanks!


Offline buildordie

  • Active Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Fabrication Parts Settings button not working
« Reply #13 on: Dec 12, 2023, 16:28:38 PM »
I wanted to update you guys that I fixed my issue ;D

After doing a process of elimination by deleting objects from the project file, it turns out that my hangers are the problem. Once they were all removed the settings dialog pops up. I reapplied my hangers and all is good now, go figure.....

Hope this helps someone!