Author Topic: Equipment to INSERT into a straight  (Read 1089 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline patrydufTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1117
  • Country: ca
  • Gender: Male
Equipment to INSERT into a straight
« on: Mar 21, 2023, 12:29:40 PM »
Hi evryone,
 Is there a way of being able to INSERT an equipment into a duct, instead of having it look for an available connector and attach to the end of the duct?
 I want to be able to "snap" it anywhere, except to the connector and take the same dimension of the duct it connects to.
Like with CID#921.
Thanks for your help.
"Whether you think you can or you can't - YOU'RE RIGHT."
"Que vous croyiez pouvoir ou non - VOUS AVEZ RAISON."

Yvon Dufresne - Novybec
CADmep, CAMduct, Revit, eVolve

Offline madcad

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
Re: Equipment to INSERT into a straight
« Reply #1 on: Mar 22, 2023, 22:53:38 PM »
I take it you have tried Insert Part?

Offline patrydufTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1117
  • Country: ca
  • Gender: Male
Re: Equipment to INSERT into a straight
« Reply #2 on: Mar 23, 2023, 10:22:01 AM »
Thanks for your response, Madcad.

Yes, I've tried that.
But this splits my straight in two.
Except for that, the behaviour is perfect.
Any way of letting the host straight intact?
"Whether you think you can or you can't - YOU'RE RIGHT."
"Que vous croyiez pouvoir ou non - VOUS AVEZ RAISON."

Yvon Dufresne - Novybec
CADmep, CAMduct, Revit, eVolve

Offline Axl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Equipment to INSERT into a straight
« Reply #3 on: Mar 23, 2023, 12:08:44 PM »
I only work with pipe, but behavior is related to the CID as far as I know(with some exceptions like hangers), for instance a tee will always cut in, but a pulled tee will do what you are looking for just insert itself without cutting the pipe.

Maybe you need to find a different CID to accomplish what you looking for.
CADmep DB Manager
Content Manager
Scripting

Offline patrydufTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1117
  • Country: ca
  • Gender: Male
Re: Equipment to INSERT into a straight
« Reply #4 on: Mar 23, 2023, 13:32:55 PM »
Thanks Axl,
 I'm actively looking for that!
Another workaround I found, if inserting the equipment to the last straight added, I just add another straight and insert the equipment on it. Then delete the broken straight and slide the equipment into the previous straight.
 Not nice, but does the job.
What I need most is something that could resemble a duct heater other than CID#518.
"Whether you think you can or you can't - YOU'RE RIGHT."
"Que vous croyiez pouvoir ou non - VOUS AVEZ RAISON."

Yvon Dufresne - Novybec
CADmep, CAMduct, Revit, eVolve

Offline cadbyken

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5307
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Equipment to INSERT into a straight
« Reply #5 on: Mar 23, 2023, 15:28:45 PM »
....
What I need most is something that could resemble a duct heater other than CID#518.

try CID#1110
Ken Taylor - Atlantic Constructors, Inc
BIM Technology & Database Manager
Revit - not ready for Primetime given all of the add-ons, work arounds, and general issues with Fabrication in Revit.  Tired of them taking our money for little results.

Offline patrydufTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1117
  • Country: ca
  • Gender: Male
Re: Equipment to INSERT into a straight
« Reply #6 on: Mar 23, 2023, 16:01:16 PM »
Thanks Ken,
 Right after lunch!

Edit: Lunch was veeeery long!

Seems I can't find CID 1110...
I've tried many databases, old and recent, and it's just non-existant.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2023, 15:57:19 PM by patryduf »
"Whether you think you can or you can't - YOU'RE RIGHT."
"Que vous croyiez pouvoir ou non - VOUS AVEZ RAISON."

Yvon Dufresne - Novybec
CADmep, CAMduct, Revit, eVolve