Author Topic: Right click menu for commands  (Read 1381 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tye AustinTopic starter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Right click menu for commands
« on: Mar 31, 2023, 20:09:29 PM »
I have a coworker that is opposed to using hot keys and is coming from years and years of CAD and being able to put all his daily use commands on the right click menu.  Anyone know if you can assign hot keys or commands to the right click menu in revit?  Seems to me that you just need to get accustomed to hot keys with Revit but maybe there's a way out there to help him transition.
Plumber / Pipefitter / Lead Detailer
Local 447

Make sure present you always takes care of future you so future present you doesn't think past you is a total jerk

Offline craigjonnson

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Male
Re: Right click menu for commands
« Reply #1 on: Apr 03, 2023, 03:25:48 AM »
You become so comfortable with one Autodesk product that you expect all the rest to do the same. Autodesk is mainly built on acquisitions, so not all of the products behave in the same manner.

Revit does not allow you to customise its right-click menu, only hot keys as you have suggested.

Offline Jona

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Right click menu for commands
« Reply #2 on: Apr 03, 2023, 15:33:37 PM »
190 hot keys can be intimidating, but maybe he can transition to like a Razer Naga and Corsair K55 combination for 18 programable buttons to cover the most common ones he might want.

Offline cadbyken

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5307
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Right click menu for commands
« Reply #3 on: Apr 03, 2023, 16:10:49 PM »
I set my Revit keyboard commands to the same I had in AutoCAD even though they may not be named the same.  The only draw back is that Revit needs 2 keys where AutoCAD didn't have a restriction. 
Ken Taylor - Atlantic Constructors, Inc
BIM Technology & Database Manager
Revit - not ready for Primetime given all of the add-ons, work arounds, and general issues with Fabrication in Revit.  Tired of them taking our money for little results.

Offline mdomer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 162
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Right click menu for commands
« Reply #4 on: Apr 03, 2023, 17:25:19 PM »
Yet another affirmation that Revit is not the correct choice for trade disciplines -- can't even do a simple thing as customize a right click menu.