Author Topic: Round Duct Materials acting odd  (Read 797 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1395
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Round Duct Materials acting odd
« on: Feb 26, 2024, 18:22:50 PM »
It seems like all my round duct wants to display in reports as Galvanized, when in the properties it displays the correct information (stainless, aluminum, etc.)
I haven't dug too deeply into it yet, but I was wondering if anyone knew what might be going on before I dive down a rabbit hole.
Christopher Nash
Operations Software & Process Manager
William R. Nash, LLC.

Offline bobcat09

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 490
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Round Duct Materials acting odd
« Reply #1 on: Feb 26, 2024, 22:47:25 PM »
I've seen weird carry over values on round duct, typically with Bought Out items. It's like it'll stick on the item but once you double click on the item, it goes to reading the spec and update on what it reports out. Are you by chance placing items randomly or stick by stick?
Lyle Janda
TDIndustries
Windows 10- AutoCAD - CADmep - ESTmep - CAMduct - Revit - Navisworks

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1395
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Round Duct Materials acting odd
« Reply #2 on: Feb 27, 2024, 16:08:03 PM »
I've seen weird carry over values on round duct, typically with Bought Out items. It's like it'll stick on the item but once you double click on the item, it goes to reading the spec and update on what it reports out. Are you by chance placing items randomly or stick by stick?

Currently noticing this problem using designline, but it seems like even placing part by part it also occurs. Rectangular works fine but all round reverts to the standard material and gauge set in the item. If you set the material to nothing, then it just reports nothing also.
See attached Screenshot. Shows as Galvanized x 28, but checking the properties of that item shows Stainless Steel x 26.

It's very odd. I've tried messing with a bunch of different settings and information without any success.

The only way I think might work is to have completely seperate ITMs for every material, which is less than ideal.
Christopher Nash
Operations Software & Process Manager
William R. Nash, LLC.

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1395
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Round Duct Materials acting odd
« Reply #3 on: Feb 27, 2024, 16:17:00 PM »
So, if I uncatalog the items they report correctly. But then it breaks some connectivity. So I am not sure what to do now haha.
Christopher Nash
Operations Software & Process Manager
William R. Nash, LLC.

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1395
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Round Duct Materials acting odd
« Reply #4 on: Feb 28, 2024, 20:25:04 PM »
Am I the only one that has this issue?  :(
Christopher Nash
Operations Software & Process Manager
William R. Nash, LLC.

Offline cadbyken

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5301
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Round Duct Materials acting odd
« Reply #5 on: Feb 29, 2024, 14:41:38 PM »
It may be related to something I had noticed.  It ended up being that in the specification, there were multiple materials applied.  Examples would be galvanized and stainless.  Sometimes the default would not be what I expected.  It was creating havoc with something but I don't recall what at the moment.  I ended up cleaning out the Spec and trying to get rid of the other materials.  I never completed the task since there were a bunch of random ones in there.  Printing out the report helps clean up but it can be a mess like I have found. 

Ken Taylor - Atlantic Constructors, Inc
BIM Technology & Database Manager
Revit - not ready for Primetime given all of the add-ons, work arounds, and general issues with Fabrication in Revit.  Tired of them taking our money for little results.

Offline cadbyken

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5301
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Round Duct Materials acting odd
« Reply #6 on: Feb 29, 2024, 14:45:44 PM »
Ken Taylor - Atlantic Constructors, Inc
BIM Technology & Database Manager
Revit - not ready for Primetime given all of the add-ons, work arounds, and general issues with Fabrication in Revit.  Tired of them taking our money for little results.

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1395
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Round Duct Materials acting odd
« Reply #7 on: Feb 29, 2024, 16:09:35 PM »
It may be related to something I had noticed.  It ended up being that in the specification, there were multiple materials applied.  Examples would be galvanized and stainless.  Sometimes the default would not be what I expected.  It was creating havoc with something but I don't recall what at the moment.  I ended up cleaning out the Spec and trying to get rid of the other materials.  I never completed the task since there were a bunch of random ones in there.  Printing out the report helps clean up but it can be a mess like I have found.

This doesn't seem to be what is causing it. Stainless Steel specs have Stainless Steel as Default Material and only have entries in the for Stainless Steel Material. Same goes for other materials.

The funny thing is, I do have a couple specs that have multiple materials with default materials set, and those work fine in those instances, but round is not involved there.
Christopher Nash
Operations Software & Process Manager
William R. Nash, LLC.

Offline chris4455

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: Round Duct Materials acting odd
« Reply #8 on: Mar 03, 2024, 18:13:21 PM »
We have the same issue.  The way we handling it is create another .itm with the correct material.  I wish there is a different way.
MEP 2010 2.40.036/052 /64 bit/ Vista

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1395
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Round Duct Materials acting odd
« Reply #9 on: Mar 04, 2024, 13:03:48 PM »
We have the same issue.  The way we handling it is create another .itm with the correct material.  I wish there is a different way.

Yeah... That's a way to do it, just not the way I was hoping to have to do it.
Christopher Nash
Operations Software & Process Manager
William R. Nash, LLC.

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1395
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Round Duct Materials acting odd
« Reply #10 on: Mar 04, 2024, 17:50:16 PM »
So... Two ways to do it that I have found so far.
1. Make separate items for every material; Not really practical...
2. Uncatalog every item; connectors stop matching and things don't connect correctly which I am unsure as to why.

If anyone has any other solutions, they would be greatly appreciated.
Christopher Nash
Operations Software & Process Manager
William R. Nash, LLC.

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1395
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Round Duct Materials acting odd
« Reply #11 on: Mar 04, 2024, 18:39:20 PM »
More weirdness.
I get this error when removing the catalog flag from the items and trying to place them.

I have never seen this error before. And everything seems to check out.
Christopher Nash
Operations Software & Process Manager
William R. Nash, LLC.

Offline craigjonnson

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Male
Re: Round Duct Materials acting odd
« Reply #12 on: Mar 04, 2024, 22:14:50 PM »
We predominantly use Revit for our fabrication items these days. Since moving to Revit, I had to rebuild all round items to suit their material type. Why, Revit requires the material on the round duct to be pre-assigned, unlike rectangular duct that just relies on the specification.
So, in a roundabout way, I don't have your issue as I've already built out to material type. The material specification drives the connectors.

Offline cnashTopic starter

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1395
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: Round Duct Materials acting odd
« Reply #13 on: Mar 05, 2024, 14:25:17 PM »
We predominantly use Revit for our fabrication items these days. Since moving to Revit, I had to rebuild all round items to suit their material type. Why, Revit requires the material on the round duct to be pre-assigned, unlike rectangular duct that just relies on the specification.
So, in a roundabout way, I don't have your issue as I've already built out to material type. The material specification drives the connectors.


We also use Revit (and ESTmep) with the very occasional CAD uses for special cases.
Guess I am leaning towards duplicating and changing materials, it's just more to manage but I haven't found another way yet.
Christopher Nash
Operations Software & Process Manager
William R. Nash, LLC.