Author Topic: 45 Degree Short Radius Elbow Unavailable In Revit After Reloading Database  (Read 1378 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chris4455Topic starter

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 419
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
I have added short radius 45 degree spiral elbows to our services and when I reload the database in a fresh project they work great.  When I try to reload the database in the project that I want to use them in the button shows up as unavailable.  Does anyone know what would cause this?  Same happens if I just load the parts into the parts tab.
MEP 2010 2.40.036/052 /64 bit/ Vista

Offline cadbyken

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5322
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
If the pattern is compatible (and I am not aware of any of the elbow patterns that aren't) try reloading the DB.  If that doesn't work, trying editing the elbow in CAD/CAM, save it then try to reload. 
Ken Taylor - Atlantic Constructors, Inc
BIM Technology & Database Manager
Revit - not ready for Primetime given all of the add-ons, work arounds, and general issues with Fabrication in Revit.  Tired of them taking our money for little results.

Offline Axl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 176
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
* what is the pattern number?
* is that part of an assembly ?
* did you imported the pattern from another DB?

CADmep DB Manager
Content Manager
Scripting

Offline Darren Young

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2100
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • BIM There Done That.
Certain older versions, a corrupt button Cache could make an otherwise "good" ITM later show up as unsupported.

Go into CADmep and run the REFRESHALLBTNS command.

By default, when you open CADmep, you'll see a "Locating Invalid Buttons" progress bar in the lower left of AutoCAD. When you press "ESC" to cancel this, that's when the button cache gets corrupted.

You don't want to hit ESC during this process.

You can also go into the Edit Config program for CADmep and select the "Skip  Validate Buttons at Start-Up" to keep this scan from happening in the future.   Note however that this setting is "per user" and "per version" on a computer.

Offline chris4455Topic starter

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 419
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Darren that seemed to fix it.  It was just strange that the database worked in a fresh project but was causing an issue when I reloaded the database in an existing project.  Thanks for your help.
MEP 2010 2.40.036/052 /64 bit/ Vista

Offline Darren Young

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2100
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • BIM There Done That.
It's not "database" specific as much as it is "Service Template" specific.

If you had Service using Service Template "A" get a corrupt ITM...it would should as unsupported.

But if you then loaded Service that used Service Template B which ALSO had the same ITM, then the Service using Template 'A" would then work.

As long as any service template was loaded where the button image wasn't corrupt, the corrupt ones on other templates then worked. But if you unloaded that good one, the corrupt ones would stop working.

Another temporary way to work around it is to load the ITM directly as a part.

Here's a writeup I did on the issue a while back.

https://www.darrenjyoung.com/2020/04/09/fix-revit-fabrication-parts-suddenly-become-invalid/

Curious...were you using  2018 or 2019?  If not, that means the issue or a variant of it has likely creeped back in.

« Last Edit: Jun 04, 2024, 16:13:25 PM by Darren Young »