XtraCAD.com

Programming & Web Design => General Programming Queries => Topic started by: DotNet on Aug 11, 2019, 08:51:22 PM

Title: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: DotNet on Aug 11, 2019, 08:51:22 PM
The VDC Revit Beta currently includes four features. Item Properties (https://miclogic.home.blog/2019/07/28/revit-properties/), Item Numbers (https://miclogic.home.blog/2019/08/05/quality-numbers-schedules/), Auto Segment (https://miclogic.home.blog/2019/04/01/breaking-revit/), and Auto Parameters (https://miclogic.home.blog/2019/06/27/exposing-revit/). If you're using Fabrication in Revit, please give it a try (https://miclogic.home.blog/2019/08/11/vdc-revit-beta/) and let me know what you think! I'd really appreciate your feedback.
Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: aloisiarai on Aug 12, 2019, 04:12:38 PM
Looks good but,

In Revit 2019.2 ITEM PROPERTIES AND NUMBER ITEMS doesn't work
In Revit 2020 NUMBER ITEMS doesn't work
Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: DotNet on Aug 12, 2019, 04:21:17 PM
Thanks for the report. Have you tried toggling Item Properties from the Ribbon? Did you tag the Items?

If that's not the issue, would you mind sharing the Revit files you're testing with?
Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: DotNet on Aug 13, 2019, 01:38:09 AM
Confirmed. Aloisiarai, I really appreciate your help with this. The links were outdated and have been updated.
Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: PipeFitter72 on Aug 16, 2019, 12:10:36 PM
I like what you have done.

Couple things.

Price point of finished software?

I really like the renumber tool, but I like to have prefix and suffix options. (unless I am just not seeing them).

The big add I would like to see is an equivalent the fabrication Mapfilter tool.
Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: DotNet on Aug 16, 2019, 01:17:00 PM
Thank you sir. I did give prefix/suffix some thought but I could definitely use some feedback. Generally in my experience prefix/suffix has been used to display floor, area, or maybe fitting type. In those cases we can combine parameters (https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/revit-products/learn-explore/caas/CloudHelp/cloudhelp/2018/ENU/Revit-DocumentPresent/files/GUID-FB1AD8E6-86C1-422D-98F2-869A989C8EA2-htm.html) in tags and schedules. I'm all ears however.

I like the idea of a Revit MAP Filter. Revit Filters (https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/revit-products/learn-explore/caas/CloudHelp/cloudhelp/2019/ENU/Revit-DocumentPresent/files/GUID-B451C74B-9214-4974-9A49-2B46A9F6D822-htm.html) are pretty good, but leave much to be desired in comparison. We could certainly do better, but since much of our Fabrication Data doesn't even exist in Revit, I'm not sure we could achieve anything near as good as the real MAP Filter. I'd still like to do something for that though.

For now the price is free and will remain so for a while. I need feedback to make it better. I really appreciate it. The Number Tool for example will likely always be free. Whatever I say here that isn't an exact number could be misinterpreted. It will not be expensive, I should at least say that.

Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: PipeFitter72 on Aug 16, 2019, 03:36:04 PM
I have started getting an error message when I open a revit family for editing.
Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: DotNet on Aug 16, 2019, 03:47:53 PM
Thank you! Will get that fixed ASAP.

EDIT:
This error has been fixed and the download links have been updated.

Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: PipeFitter72 on Sep 13, 2019, 12:21:57 PM
Thanks, I am finding this very useful.
Especially being able to quickly change things in the properties palette, like status, or connector.
Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: PipeFitter72 on Sep 17, 2019, 06:02:21 PM
About the prefix/suffix for numbering.
We mostly use them for hangers, floor supports and sleeves.

In Item properties, I would like to have length as a field, that way I would not have to reference the Revit properties as often.

I really like the filtering that can be done by selecting dropdowns on the item properties palette. It really saves time versus using a Revit filter tool.
Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: DotNet on Sep 18, 2019, 12:13:53 AM
About the prefix/suffix for numbering.
We mostly use them for hangers, floor supports and sleeves.

In Item properties, I would like to have length as a field, that way I would not have to reference the Revit properties as often.

I really like the filtering that can be done by selecting dropdowns on the item properties palette. It really saves time versus using a Revit filter tool.

Roger that. The next update will allow you to choose any parameter for prefix and/or suffix (level, area, room, fitting type, service abbreviation etc). Size and Length have already been added to the Palette internally, another great idea. I really appreciate your testing. I had originally left Size/Length off of the CAD Palette because retrieving these values with the CADmep API was simply not fast enough for a real time tool that works with hundreds, even thousands of Items at a time. I've since written pure AutoCAD API code to handle this which is much faster. The current download for VDC CAD has these values on the Palette as of last weekend. I encourage anyone using the CAD Addin to check out the latest version (https://miclogic.home.blog/2019/05/05/vdc-cad-beta/).

I had originally developed the filter drop downs to actually change the values for selected Items (Like the CADmep Addin). Unfortunately much of our Fabrication Data is read only in Revit (Buy Out, Service Type, Cut Type etc). We still need to see this data in real time so I did not remove them but I wanted them to at least do something. Selection filtering on these values seemed a logical alternative. I'm glad you're finding it useful! I've gotten a lot of good feedback and ideas so far. A big thank you to everyone who has contributed!
Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: PipeFitter72 on Nov 01, 2019, 02:57:46 PM
occasionally (in no pattern I can discern as of now) if I try to change and end connector on the palette I get connector invalid message.(see attached)
I can double click the item and change the connector that way without issue.
I will try to find a pattern.
Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: PipeFitter72 on Dec 02, 2019, 12:09:50 PM
It appears the Beta has timed out?

Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: thejikz on Dec 02, 2019, 01:12:37 PM
Same Issue. Looks like we expired!  :"(
Looks like 12-01 was the drop dead date. OK so now when can we purchase the real one? : )
Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: DotNet on Dec 02, 2019, 04:02:50 PM
Same Issue. Looks like we expired!  :"(
Looks like 12-01 was the drop dead date. OK so now when can we purchase the real one? : )

No Peeking!  ;)

Links have been updated, sorry about that. No new features in this build yet but hanger, spool, field point, and sleeve tools are coming soon. Just making sure you guys stay updated! Thanks for all of your help.
Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: effimero89 on Jan 13, 2020, 07:01:30 PM
Been using the tool now a month or two and don't have any complaints.
Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: patryduf on Jan 28, 2020, 06:18:34 PM
I installed VDCCAD 2020 yesterday And played with it a bit.
Now, today it's gone. How can I load it back? I don't remember ever doing anything special to load it yesterday...
Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: DotNet on Jan 28, 2020, 07:43:07 PM
That's strange. Without knowing why I would try uninstalling then reinstalling. Let me know if that doesn't work.
Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: patryduf on Jan 29, 2020, 02:49:49 AM
Before reading your reply, I tried to reinstall, but without uninstalling before. Didn't work.
I'll try uninstalling tomorrow.
VDCCAD looks like a tool palette. I looked in the palettes menu but it's not there. I usually never use palettes, so maybe there is a way to bring it back that I don't know. I can see it's loaded in the apps, but...
Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: DotNet on Jan 29, 2020, 03:35:55 AM
Thanks for checking it out. The CAD or Revit addin should have their own ribbon tab. With the CADmep addin you can also use the command line to access each of the tools. They both include a Properties Palette (https://gifyu.com/image/qgQW) but we need to turn them on first via the ribbon tab.
Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: patryduf on Jan 29, 2020, 10:40:34 AM
DotNet,
 I uninstalled and reinstalled. As it was yesterday, I can see it loaded in the Add-ins, but I don't know how to get the ribbon to show up.

The CAD or Revit addin should have their own ribbon tab. With the CADmep addin you can also use the command line to access each of the tools. They both include a Properties Palette (https://gifyu.com/image/qgQW) but we need to turn them on first via the ribbon tab.

You say command line? What is the command name? I tried the obvious VDCCAD, but no luck.
Thanks for your time.

EDIT- Ok, I found the command names, but can't find one that will bring up the properties palette.
Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: DotNet on Jan 29, 2020, 02:17:49 PM
Yes looks like you're all set. First make sure the ribbon is loaded with the RIBBON command. The VDCCADRIBBON command will reload the ribbon tab if it's not already loaded. You may not see the ribbon tab immediately if there are too many tabs loaded. Right click the little arrow to the far right of the Ribbon tabs to manage which ones you see.

EDIT:
The command to activate the Properties Palette is VDCCADITEMPROPERTIES
Title: Re: VDC REVIT Beta for Revit 2019 & 2020
Post by: patryduf on Jan 29, 2020, 03:28:22 PM
YESS! got it!
Everything is there.
Now, I have to play with it.

You know your work might be the reason why I would embrace working in Revit with Fabrication parts (or in Revit at all).
Thanks, I'll give feedback on your page soon.