Author Topic: exporting data to Excel  (Read 995 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bitterfitterTopic starter

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 450
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
exporting data to Excel
« on: Jul 18, 2022, 19:32:37 PM »
When exporting data from Revit to and Excel sheet using a Dynamo node, is it possible to keep the format of the sheet you are importing into?  I have tried everything I know of with no luck.  I would like to set up spacing, sorting, formatting in my sheet and reuse it every time I import data into that sheet.
"If you think education is expensive, you should see what ignorance costs you"

Offline davidratx

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1379
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: exporting data to Excel
« Reply #1 on: Jul 19, 2022, 01:22:57 AM »
You might be better served making a macro in excel to format the document after you've loaded the data.
David Ronson
TDIndustries Director of Construction Technologies
Windows 10 - Revit - AutoCAD - CADmep - ESTmep - CAMduct - GTP Stratus

Offline bitterfitterTopic starter

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 450
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: exporting data to Excel
« Reply #2 on: Jul 19, 2022, 12:04:49 PM »
Thanks for your advice.  I will see how that works. :)
"If you think education is expensive, you should see what ignorance costs you"

Offline Axl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: exporting data to Excel
« Reply #3 on: Jul 19, 2022, 12:55:59 PM »
I agree, formatting is not possible with the export to Excel block in Dynamo, you will need a python code block and script it yourself, the process is very verbose to the point of not worth it, https://xlsxwriter.readthedocs.io/format.html
CADmep DB Manager
Content Manager
Scripting

Offline cnash

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1322
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: exporting data to Excel
« Reply #4 on: Jul 19, 2022, 12:57:34 PM »
You could try importing into a tab in the excel workbook that is not your view tab and bring that data over to your view tab in a specific format.
Christopher Nash
VDC Content Manager/Support
William R. Nash Companies

Offline craigjonnson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Male
Re: exporting data to Excel
« Reply #5 on: Jul 19, 2022, 23:22:38 PM »
Have you had a look at DiRoots sheetlink. Its free and misght be a lot closer to your requirements. There is an option to export as per your Revit formatting, but doesnt allow bidirectional data if you choose that option.
All of DiRoots tools i use on a daily basis.

Offline Darren Young

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2005
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • BIM There Done That.
Re: exporting data to Excel
« Reply #6 on: Jul 20, 2022, 06:39:19 AM »
Use two spreadsheets or export to CSV.

One Spreadsheet/CSV is the raw data. Second Spreadsheet imports the other with Power Query into a table that you can sort/filter/format.

When the underlying data changes, just refresh the Power Query in the other sheet.

 

Offline cnash

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1322
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
    • William R. Nash Companies
Re: exporting data to Excel
« Reply #7 on: Jul 20, 2022, 12:24:43 PM »
Use two spreadsheets or export to CSV.

One Spreadsheet/CSV is the raw data. Second Spreadsheet imports the other with Power Query into a table that you can sort/filter/format.

When the underlying data changes, just refresh the Power Query in the other sheet.

 

Hey! That's what I said... Just worded a whole lot better.  haha!
Christopher Nash
VDC Content Manager/Support
William R. Nash Companies

Offline bitterfitterTopic starter

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 450
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: exporting data to Excel
« Reply #8 on: Jul 20, 2022, 15:11:45 PM »
A huge thank you to everyone for giving me quite a few options.  I ended up making the Macro in Excel since it was super easy and takes just one click to run it.  By saving it and placing it in my taskbar in Excel, it is there in all my workbooks and as simple as a single click and all the data is formatted.  Also really easy to change the Macro if needed.  I am going to look into the other options everyone gave and see if there is an easier way.  Thanks again!!
"If you think education is expensive, you should see what ignorance costs you"

Offline cadbyken

  • Premier Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5094
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: exporting data to Excel
« Reply #9 on: Jul 20, 2022, 16:19:40 PM »
Not a power Excel user but enjoy using "what I know" (and relearning it when I don't use it that often, lol).  Never heard of the Power Query function.  That opens up a whole new world of possibilities.  Thanks.
Ken Taylor - Atlantic Constructors, Inc
Database Manager/ITM content creator but normally working on Mech pipe systems
Revit - not ready for Primetime given all of the add-ons, work arounds, and general issues with Fabrication in Revit.  Tired of them taking our money for little results.

Offline bitterfitterTopic starter

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 450
  • Country: us
  • Gender: Male
Re: exporting data to Excel
« Reply #10 on: Aug 24, 2022, 15:08:23 PM »
So thanks to all you guys, I now have my data flowing nicely into Excel and formatting easily.  I now notice that depending on how I arrange my columns, I can get different items to show up on the tablet as far as point info.  Can anyone tell me if there is a specific order I should be putting my columns of data into so I can maximize the amount of data I am getting out?  It appears that the toast that pops up during layout, has 6 spaces for 6 of the columns of data.  I have yet to be able to get all 6 to populate...   :(
"If you think education is expensive, you should see what ignorance costs you"